42 Students earn AP Scholar awards

Forty-two students in the high school Classes of 2014 and 2015 have earned the designation of Advanced Placement Scholar from the College Board due to their outstanding achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement exams.

The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on a student’s performance on AP exams. Nine students were named AP Scholars with Distinction, including one National AP Scholar. Five students were named AP Scholars with Honors, and 28 were designated as AP Scholars.

At Freeport High School, Advanced Placement courses are open to students who are recommended for them by their teachers; students must then maintain an average of 85 or better to remain at the AP level. Students can earn college credits while still in high school, advanced placement or both for successful performance on the AP exams. As college admissions become more competitive, participation in AP courses has become an increasingly important component for acceptance to top schools. Successful completion of AP courses is also considered a good indicator of future success by most colleges.

“We are very proud of our students who have earned the prestigious honor of the AP Scholar award this year,” Freeport High School Principal Linda Carter said. “They have demonstrated college-level achievement through AP courses and exams, and they continue to excel and strive for the best. Congratulations to our Freeport High School AP Scholars!”

National AP Scholar

Lee Stetson, a graduate of the Class of 2014 who is now attending Stonybrook University, qualified for the National AP Scholar award by earning an average score of 4 or higher on eight or more AP exams. This is the highest honor an AP Scholar can earn.

AP Scholars with Distinction

Nine students received AP Scholar with Distinction awards by earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are Mohdshobair Hussaini, Karolyn Ellis, Nicolle Salazar, Kenny Escobar, Alana Ezeji, Cory Nezin, Javier Otero, Andy Queliz-Tejada and Lee Stetson.

AP Scholars with Honor

Five students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. Brian Abreu-Tejada, Leonardo Espinal, Lois Evans, Alan Luna and Erick Penate all achieved this distinction.

AP Scholars

Twenty-eight students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by receiving scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams. These students are Joel Abreu-Abreu, Jeny Ayala, Ashley Grissom, Brooke Baker, Malikia Hamilton, Felicia Benoit, Kembelin Nunez, Catherine Castillo, Candy Pacheco, Maria Cruz-Orellana, Kristopher Saint-Louis, Justin Droopad, Monique Simmon, Kaylinn Ellis, Jeremy Fey, Elvis Garcia Rodriguez, Alanna Gordon, Joseph Hernandez, Graciela Jamieson, Sarah-Ann King, Adia Matthew, Celine Orosco, Victoria Otero, Danny Pineyro, Janiece Royall, Kayla Sigmone, Jonathan Valerio and Rosmairy Vicente.