BOE’s Reorganization and Recognition


At its July reorganization meeting, the Board of Education voted to reelect Michael Pomerico and Anthony Miller to their posts as president and vice president, respectively, and also introduced Ernest J. Kight as its new trustee.

Mr. Kight took the Oath of Office.  Mr. Kight and the Board have already been working together on District matters for the past two weeks and President Pomerico and each Trustee took this opportunity to officially welcome him to the Board.  Mr. Kight thanked the community for its support and for the opportunity to serve the students of Freeport.

Following the Reorganization meeting, the Board moved into the regular action meeting.  President Pomerico thanked everyone for a great 2014 – 2015 school year and welcomed all to the new year.  

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Kishore Kuncham presented Mr. Pomerico and Mr. Miller, along with Board trustees Ronald Ellerbe and Vilma Lancaster, with various awards from the New York State School Boards Association.

Mr. Ellerbe received the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award in honor of his exemplary accomplishments as a Board member. Ms. Lancaster was presented with a Board Mastery Award, and Mr. Pomerico and Mr. Miller both received Board Excellence Awards.

“The Board of Education dedicates themselves to the children of Freeport,” said Dr. Kuncham. “The NYSSBA’s recognition of our Board is a testament to each member’s outstanding efforts and all that they do to advocate for our schools.”

A technology agreement with BOCES and various cooperative bids were approved, as was the District’s Strategic Plan for 2015 through 2020, which had been presented to the Board at the previous meeting. 

Dr. Kuncham then welcomed the district’s newest staff members to Freeport, and Mr. Pomerico distributed customary pins to all of them. The appointments included Cleopatra Panagiosoulis as principal of the Early Childhood Center; Harold J. Dean as Director of Grants, Funded Programs and Student Achievement; Ruth Breidenbach as Coordinator of the Arts and Community Relations; and Constance Malcolm-Grant as Assistant Principal.

President Pomerico wished everyone a wonderful, restful summer and reminded all that the next meeting of the Board is set for August 26th.