skip to main content

Counseling Department

**Updates**

 

The Guidance Department hopes that all families and students are safe and healthy during this difficult time.  All Guidance Counselors are available to assist you and your child with questions on a daily basis. In addition, we have created a Google Classroom and have invited your child to join.  If they haven’t already, please have them check their google email for the invite. Important information will be posted daily.  

You can reach your counselor by email

Director of Guidance

Emma Perdomo 

eperdomo@freeportschools.org

Student Last Names begin with......

 

A - Cad

Nick Angelo: nangelo@freeportschools.org

Cal - Fr

Kim Freeman: kfreeman@freeportschools.org

Fu - Leg

Sherry Ryan: sryan@freeportschools.org

Lei - Nu

Melissa McCormack:  mmccormack@freeportschools.org

O - Roq

Rosemarie Alario:  ralario@freeportschools.org

Ros - Z

Natalie Ramos: nramos@freeportschools.org

Counselors for all ELL/FELL 

 

A - Li

Blanca Tapia: btapia@freeportschools.org

Lo - Z

Rosemary Garcia:  rgarcia@freeportschools.org

 

 

***ATTENTION FREEPORT  FAMILIES***

Counselor Connection News and Updates!

For important information regarding College Planning, SAT, ACT, AP Exams, NCAA and much more please click here.

 

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY!

SENIORS(Class of 2020):

  1. College Applications: For Seniors applying to college in the coming weeks, please email your Counselor immediately so that we may import and upload any necessary documentation (transcript, report card, letters of recommendation, etc.).  Please inform your Counselor regarding any special circumstances as it relates to your application. 
  2. Updated Transcripts or Report Cards: Please inform your Counselor if you need an updated Transcript or Report Card sent to a college or university. 
  3. Scholarship Applications: For outside scholarships that need transcripts and other records, please make sure your Counselor is aware of all necessary information, and we will send the supporting documents which are required.
  4. ALL SENIORS MUST FILL OUT THE LOCAL SCHOLARSHIP APPLICATION
    • This is located on the Guidance Google Classroom.  Please check your email for an invite.  
    • Once completed you must email it to your counselor.
    • Please email your Counselor or me with any questions regarding Scholarships.
  5. Current Class Grades:  Please continue to complete all work that is assigned to you, as colleges may ask for updated and/or third quarter grades.

 

JUNIORS (CLASS of 2021):

  1. College entrance exams: As many of you are aware, under the current circumstances, SAT and ACT exams have been postponed and moved to later dates.  As this situation continues to be monitored, both the College Board and ACT may intervene and change dates at any time. The best advice that we have is to continue checking both websites, and look out for emails if you have already been affected.  Please email your counselor if you have any questions.  
  2. Fee Waivers:  If you qualify for a Fee Waiver, and need to Register for the SAT, ACT and/or NCAA, please inform your Counselor immediately!  We will provide you with the necessary CODE to enter on the payment page!  
  3. BOCES APPLICATIONS: For those of you who have already applied to BOCES, all applications will be evaluated as they normally would have been this time of year.  If you still wish to apply to BOCES, and did not yet submit an application, please email your counselor.  
  4. JUNIOR CONFERENCES: Counselors will be conducting junior conferences.  They have sent out emails regarding your scheduled time.  If you have not received an email please contact them to set one up.

FRESHMEN & SOPHOMORES ( Class of 2023 &2022):

  1. Please continue to complete all of your work through Google Classroom.  It is very important to stay on top of your assignments.  
  2. If you are having any problems/concerns please email your counselor.
  3. This would be a good time for you to work on your resume.  Join our Google Classroom to view a sample resume.
  4. Keep reviewing for regents exams on Khan Academy @ www.khanacademy.org.

 

AP EXAM UPDATE:

 

For the 2019–20 exam administration only, students can take a 45-minute online exam at home. 

 

To be fair to all students exams will only include topics and skills most AP teachers and students have already covered in class by early March.

 

Colleges support this solution and are committed to ensuring that AP students receive the credit they have worked this year to earn. 

 

Students will be able to take these streamlined exams on any device they have access to—computer, tablet, or smartphone. Taking a photo of handwritten work will also be an option.