skip to main content

Counseling Department

**Updates**

 

Welcome Back to the 2021-2022 school year. All of the School Counselors are available to assist with questions on a daily basis. We have created grade level Google Classroom and encourage all students to join. We will be sharing valuable information and updates on these classrooms. The codes have been emailed to you. If they haven’t already, please check your google email for the invite.

You can reach your counselor by email or
contact the Guidance office at (516) 867-5320

Director of Guidance

Emma Perdomo 

eperdomo@freeportschools.org

Student Last Names begin with......

 

A - Cad

Nick Angelo: nangelo@freeportschools.org

Cal - Fr

Kim Freeman: kfreeman@freeportschools.org

Fu - Leg

Sherry Ryan: sryan@freeportschools.org

Lei - Nu

Melissa McCormack:  mmccormack@freeportschools.org

O - Roq

Rosemarie Alario:  ralario@freeportschools.org

Ros - Z

Natalie Ramos: nramos@freeportschools.org

Counselors for all ELL/FELL 

 

A - Li

Blanca Tapia: btapia@freeportschools.org

Lo - Z

Rosemary Garcia:  rgarcia@freeportschools.org

  

Financial Aid Night Presentation!

This Wednesday, September 21@ 6 P.M. Don't miss out. Mark your calendars!

Freeport High School will host a very valuable and informative financial aid meeting for juniors, seniors and their parents. This meeting will take place on Wednesday evening, September 21, 2022 at 6 P.M. in the PAC.

This workshop aims to provide an overview of the financial aid process. The topics that will be covered include understanding need-based versus merit-based aid, an explanation of how the Estimated Family Contribution (EFC) works in determining aid eligibility, a description of Federal and New York State Aid Programs, how to apply, special circumstances, understanding institutional aid from colleges, and applying for private scholarships. We will also address all of the most commonly asked questions in student financial aid.


Financial Aid Presentation - Pay for College: Getting Started

 

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY!

SAT Updates:

Discontinuing SAT Subject Tests
College Board will no longer offer the Subject Tests in the U.S. Students in the U.S. will automatically have their registrations canceled and receive a refund.


Discontinuing the optional SAT Essay
This decision recognizes that there are other ways for students to demonstrate their mastery of essay writing. At the same time, writing remains essential to college readiness, and the SAT will continue to measure writing and editing skills. The tasks on the SAT Reading and Writing and Language tests are among the most effective and predictive parts of the SAT

SAT Test Dates

 

ACT Update:

ACT Test Dates

Fee Waivers: If you qualify for a Fee Waiver, and need to Register for the SAT, ACT and/or NCAA, please email your Counselor! We will provide you with the necessary CODE to enter on the payment page!